AVI to VCD - Recommendations?

Myrak

I need to convert a few 200MB TV eps to a burnable format to burn to a CD and watch on a DVD player.

I am a complete novice at the video conversion stuff because I own the worst laptop, with only a CD burner (no DVD capabilities) that doesn't even work now. To burn anything I have to burn a CD with the laptop (the files on it are only readable on my computers apparently), bring it to my older desktop running Windows 98 and re-burn it again there. I can only burn CDs with my Win98 desktop too.

I don't know if its VCD, SVCD or whatever. I need something that fits on a 700MB CD-R. The episodes are 200MB each and run for 25mins each. I need it to play on a standard DVD player and computer (it's for school). What do I do, what do I use and how do I do it?

I have Nero 6.3 installed and working on my Win98 desktop. If that isn't good enough I can install whatever else I need. I don't really care about the time it takes, I can run this desktop for as long as needed, but it must be noted it is not that powerful so it would probably take longer than expected.

Thanks guys. :wacko:

• Replies 7
  • Views 1.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i'd recomend SVCD, better quality...

so read this post keeping these differences in mind...

DVD = 720x480 pixels (hardcoded 16:9 [wide])

SVCD = 480x480 pixels (hardcoded 4:3 [box])

so the resolution equation will be a bit different...

([720/w]*h)/1.1

and use a different, more compressible, resizer...

BicubicResize(480, ES, 0.0, 0.6)

and check your PMs for CCE, i think that about covers it :unsure:

My eps are widescreen, 704x396, so will all that still work or do I need to change anything?

yup, the equation is set in such a way that no matter the AVI's resolution it'll return the proper SVCD video height (becomes quite easy oce you get the hang of it) :unsure: