Linux Distro Reccomendations?

Alanon

So I've been thinking of getting into Linux for a while now. It just so happens I have a spare HDD, I have some free time and I realised that most of my frequently used software has dedicated Linux versions – no reason to put it off any further. So, like the title says, what should I install? I guess I'm looking for something that would help me learn more about the OS, and give me the chops I need if I decide to switch to another distro later on? Does that make sense? I plan on dual booting, so not everything has to be covered, and gaming doesn't have to be on the menu just yet, though it would be nice to see how that looks as well.

I should stress that I'm a noob with regards to Linux, I really would be starting from scratch. I know it's not rocket science, but still. I'd like to give it a fair go, so I'm not looking for completely dumbed-down distros that try to be carbon copies of Windows. However, I feel that despite not being afraid to tinker and fool around with the software, if it's overwhelming or unnecessarily complicated, I'll just be too lazy to give it a chance. I guess I'm looking for a happy medium? I realise I'll have to learn a lot of OS conventions, the point is just to have that learning be a pleasant experience?

I've seen a lot of recommendations for Linux Mint, and it looks nice, I guess? Problem is, I have no frame of reference. Is that the go-to for what I'm looking for? I did check out some tutorials outlining the abysmal world of branches, distros and their variations, and it quickly went over my head. I get the theory, but I have no idea on how all that relates to practice. That's why I'm looking for your input, because I can bet there are folks here that tried out many distros and know the score.