- SOLVED - A question about my ISP, VPN and torrents

frankl1n

I have a paid subscription to Nord VPN. Lately it has been slow as fcuk for torrents! I understand that my ISP can not tell exactly what I am doing when I am protected by VPN, but can they tell the traffic is P2P? Can my ISP see real IP? The reason I ask is because my torrents start out OK then degrade into a mind numbingly slow rate! I think my ISP knows it is P2P and then throttles it back...way back. This has become frustrating because I am accustomed to much better speeds for torrents and now I might as well not even try to use P2P.

• Replies 12
  • Views 1.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My advice for what it's worth:  

1. Ditch the VPN
  2. Get a Seed Box

Deluge offers built-in encryption for people that aren't running a VPN. The advantage of encryption is it blocks 3rd parties (like your ISP) from reading your traffic or seeing that you're downloading torrents. This also stops them from throttling your torrents and may result in faster speeds.

https://dev.deluge-torrent.org/wiki/Download

4 hours ago, frankl1n said:

but can they tell the traffic is PTP? Can my ISP see real IP?

With Nord no. Your traffic will be miss mash to your isp ..I would suggest to enable internet kill switch though just in case you loose connection which does happen ..Also don't think you just have to use p2p servers i always connect to Switzerland as they pretty much don't mind file sharing ..good luck..

Remember the man in the mask stands out from the crowd.

On 10/27/2019 at 10:00 PM, Reefa said:

With Nord no. Your traffic will be miss mash to your isp ..I would suggest to enable internet kill switch though just in case you loose connection which does happen ..Also don't think you just have to use p2p servers i always connect to Switzerland as they pretty much don't mind file sharing ..good luck..