Security Suite with firewall

dragons2020

In your opinion what is the best free security suite with firewall. Lately i have been having many problems with Norton Security.

Maybe time to switch.

• Replies 18
  • Views 2.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

May I ask what problems you're facing with Norton? I'm considering switching to it.

According to the latest tests from av-test.org and av-comparatives.org, Norton seems to be scoring pretty high.

But imho you can't go wrong with Bitdefender, I've been using it for at least three years now and I don't think it ever caused any trouble :)

What specific features do you need from the firewall? If you don't need anything fancy, maybe go with Windows Defender and Windows Firewall just like Radpop suggested.

By the way, there's an excellent tool to manage Windows' Firewall called "Windows Firewall Control" from Binisoft, and it's completely free:

https://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php

@megadorus. I have been using Norton for more than 10 years. It is great. The problems are not so much Norton but the trial reset. After Norton 22.19 the tr,s have been giving me problems. I have to complete uninstall. Clean install, run tr, Activated. 1 to 2 days later no longer activated. I would buy it buy it but i have a very small budget. I will try the reset for 22.19 and if not good then switch.

Just stick with Windows Defender and change the GPO to stop scanning files on-access (Windows key + R → gpedit → realtime protection → configure activity scan of files and programs in and out → activate → scan inbound files) and Simplewall if you want a more user friendly graphical interface to configure Windows Firewall.

PS: Sorry since I'm French I don't exactly know how to translate well the path to the GPO setting but I hope it gave you actual useful hints to find it.

breachinbleach

Is the setting named configure monitoring of incoming and outgoing file and program activity? The setting should be 1? Thks