Jump to content

Please read the following announcement about thanks posts and their replacement; the like / thanks button.




Welcome to nsane.forums


Sign In  Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter

Create Account
Welcome to nsane.forums, like most online communities you need to register to view parts of our community or to make contributions, but don't worry: this is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of nsane.forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Access special members only forums
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Windows 7 Update - DO NOT INSTALL KB971033


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
33 replies to this topic

#1 CrAzYNeSs

CrAzYNeSs

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:35 PM

I just noticed this Windows Update as I got the icon showing in my lower right hand corner. Suspiciously I checked the description and to my surprise, there it was.

So just a heads up to my favorite people at Nsane. You probably do NOT want to install it.

There is an update available to the activation and validation components in Windows Activation Technologies for Windows 7.

Windows Activation Technologies helps you confirm that the copy of Windows 7 that is running on your computer is genuine. Additionally, Windows Activation Technologies helps protect against the risks of counterfeit software. Windows Activation Technologies in Windows 7 consists of activation and validation components that contain anti-piracy features.

* Activation is an anti-piracy technology that verifies the product key for the copy of Windows 7 that is running on your computer. The product key is a 25-character code that is located on the Certificate of Authenticity label or on the proof of license label. These labels are included with each genuine copy of Windows. A genuine product key can only be used on the number of computers that are specified in a software license.
* Validation is an online process that enables you to verify that the copy of Windows 7 that is running on your computer is activated correctly and is genuine.



#2 Atasas

Atasas

    ViP Member

  • Veteran
  • 2,820 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Far, far away...

  • Blank

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:38 PM

ouch!
Have u tried Hazar & co fix?
nSaneForums come as guest, stay as family!

#3 *dcs18

*dcs18

    ViP Member

  • Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,179 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • India

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:41 PM

Hi CrAzYNeSs,
:o You almost saved our lives. :D
http://www.nsaneforu...dows-7-pirates/

Edited by dcs18, 24 February 2010 - 12:56 PM.


#4 nooooooooo

nooooooooo

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts

  • Blank

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:53 PM

This is why I just buy the fucking thing. The last thing I want is the OS locking me out or having to be "fixed".

#5 Sl@pSh0ckô

Sl@pSh0ckô

    ViP Member

  • Veteran
  • 1,893 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Your Face
  • Interests:IT, PC Games, Music and Female Anatomy

  • Philippines

Posted 24 February 2010 - 12:57 PM

nothing to worry about this ... check the link posted by dcs18 .... we've been playing with this even before it became available for download :lol:


nfslapshock2.png
Credit goes to HX1 for the sig.


#6 dMog

dMog

    ViP Member

  • Veteran
  • 2,076 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Canada

Posted 24 February 2010 - 01:38 PM

nothing to worry about this ... check the link posted by dcs18 .... we've been playing with this even before it became available for download :lol:

Micro soft has made this update optional...meaning you can choose NOT to install it and for future updates this particular update can be hidden from appearing again on the update options
green is the color, football is the game

#7 jalaffa

jalaffa

    ViP Member

  • Staff
  • 15,683 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Blank

Posted 24 February 2010 - 02:21 PM

Fearless me had it installed. Mind you I have a technet account.

#8 Icey

Icey

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts

  • Canada

Posted 24 February 2010 - 03:03 PM

I installed it yesterday, didn't know it was related to WAT.
But everything seems fine anyway. Couldn't detect my bios mod :sneaky:

#9 shajt

shajt

    ViP Member

  • ViP
  • 1,577 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • Blank

Posted 24 February 2010 - 03:23 PM

I received 4 updates yesterday but that one was not included :blink:
i would not install it anyway :sneaky:
I'm the chief of all chiefs, the Don of all dons. The boss of all bosses, the fuckin warlord. The grand wizard of bars. When I die, my tombstone'll read "He was The one and only, Infamous, notorious"

#10 Ambrocious

Ambrocious

    ViP Member

  • Banned
  • 2,072 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

  • Pirate

Posted 24 February 2010 - 04:54 PM

LOL I installed it knowing what would happen. I'm not worried. I really do hate that ugly black screen back there. Looking forward to either a patch or enough money to afford windows 7.

#11 CrAzYNeSs

CrAzYNeSs

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2010 - 05:06 PM

Oops, I didn't see the other post. I did it out of <3 ;)

#12 tux

tux

    New Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

  • Canada

Posted 24 February 2010 - 05:40 PM

Installed it, went to www.microsoft.com/genuine/ with IE

Microsoft thanks me for using a genuine version of Windows...

FAIL Microsoft !

I'm using a BIOS with SLIC2.1 integrated in it

#13 CODYQX4

CODYQX4

    ViP Member

  • ViP
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somewhere Unknown...

  • United States

Posted 24 February 2010 - 06:04 PM

Installed it, went to www.microsoft.com/genuine/ with IE

Microsoft thanks me for using a genuine version of Windows...

FAIL Microsoft !

I'm using a BIOS with SLIC2.1 integrated in it



Same for me, having SLIC 2.1 BIOS is the best way to crack Vista/7.

Even if somehow they blocked some of the OEM keys (they said they would the Lenovo one), there are new ones showing up. Microsoft opened up pandora's box by making this form of activation and they can't shut it.

I am under the assumption that the money the OEM's pay for this method is far greater then the money gained if everyone in the world who uses this method went out and bought Windows 7, so MS don't give a damn about this method. They focus on modded files and loaders, but people just make new loaders. the modded files is more unreliable. The first activation hack to come out has been Frankenbuilding and it is the first to get fixed.

In short, WAT is just a pathetic attempt at scaring pirates.
It just nags, not disable features, and these nags can likely be stopped even if WAT can't.



#14 donizme

donizme

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 518 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2010 - 06:18 PM

If anyone installs this update even though they are using Hazar/Daz fix please post your results. :sneaky:

#15 oZ.

oZ.

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 522 posts

  • Canada

Posted 24 February 2010 - 06:34 PM

This is why I just buy the fucking thing. The last thing I want is the OS locking me out or having to be "fixed".


- buying = $200 +
i rather upgrade my RAM, G-card, monitor, NEW extreme gaming mouse/keyboard

- new crack for stupid MS fix will release within 1 month or 2

- disable windows update or SPECIFIC update will solve the problem temporarily

- when new fix release, every 1 will laugh at you.
Posted Image

#16 Sl@pSh0ckô

Sl@pSh0ckô

    ViP Member

  • Veteran
  • 1,893 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Your Face
  • Interests:IT, PC Games, Music and Female Anatomy

  • Philippines

Posted 24 February 2010 - 06:48 PM

If anyone installs this update even though they are using Hazar/Daz fix please post your results. :sneaky:



Model : HP-Compaq Presario
OS : Win 7 Ultimate (x86)
Bios: untouched
Loader: DAZ version 1.7.7r
Mode: Default
Slic : HP
Certificate: HP
Serial : Acer (Ultimate)
Status: Activated (Untouched)

Passed WAT/WGA

Posted Image



nfslapshock2.png
Credit goes to HX1 for the sig.


#17 lolopakalolo

lolopakalolo

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

  • United States

Posted 24 February 2010 - 08:35 PM

Thanks for the heads up. almost messed up.

#18 lolopakalolo

lolopakalolo

    New Member

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

  • United States

Posted 24 February 2010 - 08:37 PM


nothing to worry about this ... check the link posted by dcs18 .... we've been playing with this even before it became available for download :lol:

Micro soft has made this update optional...meaning you can choose NOT to install it and for future updates this particular update can be hidden from appearing again on the update options



Worked 4 me!

#19 anuraag

anuraag

    ViP Member

  • Staff
  • 7,148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nsane.Forum

  • India

Posted 25 February 2010 - 01:10 AM

OS : Win 7 Ultimate (x86)
Bios: untouched
Loader: DAZ version 1.7.7r
Mode: Default
Posted Image
Posted Image

#20 heyyahblah

heyyahblah

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Wages

  • Canada

Posted 25 February 2010 - 01:41 AM

Hey, I was an unlucky one. I have 2 PC's desktop and laptop I was letting my girlfriend use my laptop and she installed a bunch of windows updates like she said because the update screen popped up and when my laptop reset it said that it wasn't genuine, I'm kinda pist, but I can't hold a grudge against her since I'm using Win 7 for free. It was the AIO activated copy floating around x64.

Could someone point me in a direction of a WAT removal tool or such, right now I have a black screen and 3 rows on the bottom right:

Windows 7
Build 7600
This copy of Windows is not genuine


and the desktop is black, since my laptop is now messed, I guess I am forced to be a guinea pig, but at least I can say that this has happened and if I can get results which will help out other members in the future. So, if anyone can give me something to try to fix this and I can post results. I'm using a Toshiba Satellite Notebook,

Thanks