LGA pin lifespan

mclaren85

Hello nsaners,

I open up my computer every 6 months to clean and reapply thermal paste. But my motherboard is LGA which means the pins located on the motherboard not on the cpu. So do you think these tiny pins on the mobo will wear out if I plugin & plugout too often? Because pins look flexible and fragile.

Any ideas will be appreciated guys.

• Replies 11
  • Views 1.1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Administrator

I'm not an expert, but most certainly yes, they can bend or even break. Here is a thread with images for it.

My question and suggestion is, why actually remove the CPU when doing so, just let the CPU remain on the motherboard, open the socket, but do not remove the CPU from the socket. Then carefully clean it and reapply it.

No reason to unseat and seat a CPU, unless you are replacing it ... 

You reapply thermal paste on top top of the CPU die .. So you just remove the HS and F

You can easily clean the mounted chip with a alcohol moistened Qtip, no other reason to be OC

40 minutes ago, DKT27 said:

My question and suggestion is, why actually remove the CPU when doing so

That's because not to put so much pressure on the cpu while cleaning the old paste.

Maybe I should leave it as it is, or switch to AMD because they use PGA.

2 minutes ago, mclaren85 said:

That's because not to put so much pressure on the cpu while cleaning the old paste.

Just food for thought. CPU can handle the pressure of heatsink easily. If i were you i won't be too worry when cleaning it with hands.

And no, AMD pins have more risk of bending since it's located on the CPU. Trust me, i've experienced countless bents on my old AMD processors but never happened on my intel pins so far.

19 hours ago, trufpal said:

AMD pins have more risk of bending since it's located on the CPU. Trust me, i've experienced countless bents on my old AMD processors but never happened on my intel pins so far.