Microsoft / Skype

Loboron

My information:

I live in Northern Baja California Mexico, I'm using Windows 7 Home on a 64 bit system.

Issue:  I've been using Skype for many years, trouble free until recently. I hadn't been logged onto Skype for about a month and then I needed to call a sick friend in Oregon, USA. When I opened Skype as I usually did, it asked me for my Login and Password (which it had never done before) as the "Keep me Logged in" was checked. I tried to login with my "Saved" password and was rejected repeatedly and finally a prompt opened up and said I need to login with my Microsoft account, and if I didn't have one,, I needed to register.  I registered and tried to open Skype and it wouldn't open... I continued to receive a page from Microsoft that said "So you have lost your e-mail account" ?????? It kept asking me to open another account for my e-mail... which I didn't do as it was working great.

Then I downloaded the latest Skype, from here and from their site.  When it downloads and says installed, I open Skype with the icon and all I ever get is a small box with the name Skype, the box is blank, no login, and the tool bar consists of nothing more than "Close" "How do you want to connect"

I would really like some assistance with this issue, if possible. I've been trying for days to no avail to get it working.  If there's someone who thinks they can solve this issue, I have Team Viewer if you want to connect.

Thank you for taking the time to read this, I just wanted to answer all the possible questions first.

Ron

p.s. One of my concerns is that the original Skype and account has an annual auto-deduct.for my paid subscription.

• Replies 18
  • Views 1.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • To begin, open the folder % AppData%\Skype (or simply C:\Users\Your username\AppData\Roaming\Skype) and delete everything. NB! Skype need to shut down completely before deleting.
  • Then, try to log in again.