FFmpeg introduction

Pequi

OK, as promised, a ffmpeg tutor. I'm not an expert, I just use it for everyday "tweaks".
Hope nothing "wraps".

1) You will need the ffmpeg binaries, available from
https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/
Click on the "static versions" and choose the latest stable version, the "GIT" versions might possibly have bugs.
The latest stable is labeled:
ffmpeg-<version>.-win<32 or 64 bit>-static.7z

Extract the contents of the "bin" folder (3 files, including ffmpeg.exe)to somewhere on your %PATH
If you don't know what your %PATH is, or how to add folders to it, Glugle.

If you want, extract the ffmpeg-all.html file from the DOC folder and keep it handy.

2) ffmpeg is a command prompt executable, so either make a right-click "command" entry to right-click folder, or learn how to move around in pseudo DOS, usually by typing "cmd" (XP) or "command" (Win7+) at start - execute, and using "cd" to get to the folder containing the media file.
Glugle again.

3) Test it. Type "ffmpeg" (without the "" ) into your command prompt and it should print something like this:
ffmpeg version 3.0 Copyright (c) 2000-2016 the FFmpeg developers
  built with gcc 5.3.0 (GCC)
  configuration: --enable-gpl --enable-version3
  bla bla bla
If this does not happen, do NOT continue, go back.

Of course, under Linux, just install the latest from the repos. Your dist will do the paths for you.
Warning - Have not tested batch commands under Linux

Remember, most common video formats are just containers for streams. They contain a video stream, an audio stream and sometimes metadata streams (subtitles, menus, chapters etc)
Mediainfo light is your friend

http://www.codecguide.com/download_other.htm#mediainfo

After installing, right click on the video||music to see what's there.

Here are practical examples. All refer to media that you legally own or some nepharious hacker might have torrented to your HD to frame you.

----------------------------------------------------------------