:

knowledge-Spammer

• Replies 19
  • Views 2.7k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Protect your privacy. See who's tracking your web browsing and block them with Ghostery.

It doesn't speed up anything. And I've been using it for about 1 year. Read the addon page. It pretty much tells you what it does. And speed is not part of it..

I've been using it for a few years now....It does speed up browsing due to it preventing scripts running before they're injected into the browser....If you search through Wilders you'll say many say the same....In fact its much like noscript if you turn your adblocker off you'll be surpised to see how many ads Ghostery stops itself.

I use to use it for years but really it adds more ram to your browser so in the long run it slows you down . When bench marking it .. it always stayed right under ABP . I ditched the addon along with ABP I just use UBlock list to block trackers now and my browser zooms.

I have it in IE and maxthon browsers still because no UBlock support for extra tracking protection but not to speed up my browsing .

If you use it always make sure to opt out of ghost rank .

Because they sell the info from what you block they get paid to help anti adblock this addon selling data is why adblockers dont work on some sites anymore

Ghostery is owned by Evidon, a company that collects and provides data to advertising companies. It has a feature called GhostRank that you can check to "support" them. The problem is, Ghostery blocks sites from gathering personal information on you—but Ghostrank will take note the ads you encounter and which ones you block, and sends that information back to advertisers so they can better formulate their ads to avoid being blocked. The data is anonymous, and Ghostery still does everything it promises to do to protect your privacy.

http://lifehacker.com/ad-blocking-extension-ghostery-actually-sells-data-to-a-514417864

Ghostery, I felt not significant to speed my FireFox?